INTERVIEW SERIES: Darlene

INTERVIEW TRANSCRIPT [edited for clarity]

Darlene: “I’ve always wanted to read. It’s a passion of mine. I got thousands of books at home. I do. And I really need to get rid of some of them but I like re-reading books. I could do that all the time. And my mom hated the fact that I read all the time—she’d have me do my chores, like cleaning the bathroom, and I’d always sneak a book in there and try to clean and read at the same time, which doesn’t work. So when I retired, that’s all I wanted to do was read. And crochet. I’m in the process of making each one of my grandkids an Afghan blanket. I call it, ‘Hugs From Nanna.’

Now, my mom could sew, and she made these quilts. I would love to do that! But I don’t have the skill and I don’t have the patience. Or the space, for something that big. Anyways, Mom tried to show me how to sew for a while in high school. You’re really gonna think this is funny but back when I was a freshman, The Beatles first came out. That’s how long it’s been. You remember those jackets with the small stand-up collars? I made myself and three of my friends each a jacket. I remember my mom and I thought we would come to blows because I wanted to sew and she said, ‘that’s not right, you gotta tear this out and it’s gotta be this way,’ but I wanted to figure it out myself. I don’t think I ever sewed much after that; that was my one big project. But I was so proud of those jackets.”

So, you were into The Beatles?

D: “No, no. I just ‘liked’ The Beatles ‘cause it made my dad mad. Sounds bad to say it but there was a little bit of teenage angst, you know? But he thought they were communists [because] they had long hair. You know.

Town was a lot different back then. You could go out at night. We used to run around everywhere ‘cause I couldn’t drive, so we walked to the shows and we walked to the library. It was a close community. Except, like I said before, people around here have real long memories. And it’s sad, but they’ll carry a grudge forever. It just isn’t worth it. You only hurt yourself when you carry a grudge. Just move on. I mean, your feelings might be hurt, but that’s life. Carrying that kind of grief doesn’t do anybody any kind of good; when it’s on the inside, it just eats you up.”

Leave a comment

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑